IFTA Award excitement at The Gaiety School of Acting

Thursday, April 7th, 2016 at 4:52 pm | News & Events

Sarah Greene taking home a gong at the 2015 IFTAs.

This Saturday the 9th of April the IFTA award winners will be announced at a glittering ceremony in Dublin. As always, we are ridiculously proud of the Gaiety School graduates who are nominated for awards across the many categories.  It’s a Gaiety School affair in more ways than one – not only are so many of our graduates nominated, but Deirdre O’Kane (class of 1986) is hosting the ceremony, while patron of the school Liam Neeson is to be honoured with a special award on the evening.

Colin Farrell has been nominated for the Actor in a Lead Role Award for his movie The Lobster, and is also up against fellow Gaiety School graduate Aidan Turner (class of 2004) in the Actor in a Lead Role in Drama Category.  Farrell is nominated for True Detective, while Aidan Turner is up for the BBC’s Poldark.

In the Actress in a Lead Role category, Eva Birthistle (class of 1995) is nominated for Swan Song.

GSA graduates Sarah Greene (class of 2006) and Catherine Walker (class of 1996) are battling it out for the Actress in a Lead Role Drama category for their roles in Rebellion and Critical respectively.

Moe Dunford (class of 2009) is nominated in the Supporting Actor in a Drama category for his part in Vikings, while Sarah Greene is also nominated in the Actress in a Supporting Role category for Penny Dreadful.

Finally, Mark O’Halloran (class of 1992) has received a nomination in the Best Script category for Viva.

We’ll be tuned in and lighting candles left, right and centre for all nominees!